Opening Day 2006 officially welcomes the following 12 players to the All-Time Met roster:

10 Endy Chavez
13 Billy Wagner
16 Paul LoDuca
18 Jose Valentin
21 Carlos Delgado
22 Xavier Nady
23 Julio Franco
27 Darren Oliver
34 Jorge Julio
40 Brian Bannister
50 Duaner Sanchez
53 Chad Bradford

And appearing in new numbers: Coach Manny Acta, in No. 3.

Thanks to the many fans who reported Brian Bannister indeed upgraded his uniform to Major League status: He’ll make his MLB debut this week in No. 40, leaving aside No. 61. The final composition of the roster came together when veteran Darren Oliver 27 got the nod overPedro Feliciano 39 to be the bullpen lefty. The decision appears to speak as much to the Mets’ state of mind concerning the starting rotation than it does Oliver or Feliciano. On balance though, we were happy to see the Mets limit themselves to 6 bullpenners and provide a job for sluggy outfielder Victor Diaz 20, and though our expectations probably aren’t as sky-high as the new TV channel would have you believe, we’re looking forward to a better year, like we do every year at this time.

  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • Technorati
  • Reddit
  • Yahoo Buzz
  • StumbleUpon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *